An Official
Website of
World Sailing
Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofia MAPFRE 2011
Regatta Details
Start Date2 April 2011
End Date9 April 2011
VenuePalma de Majorca
Entry Name
Entry AddressConsorrcio Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia
Tel+ 34 971 40 24 12
Fax+ 34 971 40 24 51
Registration Lists n/a
The Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is held in Majorca, in the renowned bay of Palma, every year around Easter and will celebrate its 42nd anniversary in 2011. It is the third of seven regattas in the 2010-11 ISAF Sailing World Cup series.

The Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is the starting point of the European sailing season every year. The ten Olympic sailing events are joined by the Dragon fleet as invited class. The Dragon was the first class to participate in the most important and international sailing event held in Spain.

Born in honour of the princess of Spain at the time, HM Queen Sofia at present, the first edition was held in 1968. During the first years it was an event reserved for the Dragon class in which Prince Don Juan Carlos participated and was the winner of the 1973 edition. Thanks to the support of the Royal Family, the competition soon began to grow and in 1974 new classes were included by express wish of HM Queen Sofia. Over the past years the event has been placed among the best Olympic classes events of the world and is part of the ISAF Sailing World Cup. The organization, both ashore and at sea, and the welcoming attitude of the 500-plus regatta team and the people of Majorca, make of this event a very special competition for all those competitors that, year after year, visit the island, as well as for the around 150 accredited journalists.

The Majorcan event gathers together every year around one thousand boats and 1,500 competitors, with the top ten of each class, World, European and Olympic champions among them. It is a very competitive regatta at international level and many nations, with Spain among them, select the regatta as trial event for their Olympic teams.

As the third regatta of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE will already begin to see the favourite teams to achieve the final victory of this exciting, innovating world sailing circuit. Winning the regatta is also very appealing: around one thousand teams fight every year to engrave their name on the absolute trophy that is awarded to the best sailor of all classes during the majestic prizegiving ceremony normally presided over the King and Queen of Spain.

With the sponsorship of insurance company MAPFRE for fourth consecutive year, the Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia - MAPFRE is organised by the Real Federación Española de Vela, Federación Balear de Vela, Real Club Náutico de Palma, Club Nàutic S'Arenal, Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa and Escuela de Vela Calanova, with the collaboration of the Govern de les Illes Balears, Palma City Council, Llucmajor City Council, Consell de Mallorca, Port de Balears, Trasmediterránea Acciona, Toyota and Ultramar.

Fleet racing 2.4 Metre Overall Results
Fleet racing Disabled 2.4 Metre Overall Results
Fleet racing Men 470 Overall Results
Fleet racing Women 470 Overall Results
Fleet racing Open 49er Overall Results
Fleet racing Open Dragon Overall Results
Match racing Women Elliott 6m 1Overall Results
Fleet racing Open Finn Overall Results
Fleet racing Men Laser Overall Results
Fleet racing Women Laser Radial Overall Results
Windsurfing Men RS:X 2Overall Results
Windsurfing Women RS:X 2Overall Results
Fleet racing Men Star Overall Results
Trofeo SAR Princess Sofia MAPFRE02 Apr 2011 - 09 Apr 2011
Finn (Open) Fleet racing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1GBRn/aBen Ainslie
2GBRn/aGiles Scott
3FRAn/aThomas Le Breton
4NZLn/aDan Slater
5USAn/aZach Railey
6ESPn/aRafa Trujillo Villar
7GBRn/aEdward Wright
8SLOn/aVasilij Zbogar
9SLOn/aGasper Vincec
10SWEn/aJohan Tillander
11POLn/aRafal Szukiel
12ITAn/aMichele Paoletti
13ITAn/aGiorgio Poggi
14GBRn/aMark Andrews
15FRAn/aJonathan Lobert
16SWEn/aDaniel Birgmark
17NEDn/aPieter-Jan Postma
18GERn/aJan Kurfeld
19POLn/aPiotr Kula
20AUSn/aBrendan Casey
21ESTn/aDeniss Karpak
22GBRn/aAndrew Mills
23BRAn/aJorge Zarif
24ITAn/aFilippo Baldassari
25USAn/aCaleb Paine
26FINn/aTapio Nirkko
27GREn/aIoannis Mitakis
28CZEn/aMichael Maier
29GERn/aMatthias Miller
30ESPn/aAlex Muscat
31SWEn/aBjörn Allansson
32ESTn/aHarles Liiv
33RUSn/aAlexey Selivanov
34TURn/aAkif Muslubas
35NZLn/aMatt Coutts
37UKRn/aAndriy Gusenko
38RUSn/aEduard Skornyakov
39TURn/aAlican Kaynar
40NEDn/aTimo Hagoort
41RUSn/aDmitry Tereshkin
42ESPn/aMiguel Fernandez Vasco
43GERn/ajulian massler
44TURn/aAli Kemal Tufekci
46SUIn/aChristoph Christen
47ITAn/aDavide Bortoletto
48HUNn/aGaszton Pal
49ITAn/aMarko Kolic
50RUSn/aVitaliy ROZHKOV
51INDn/aNachhatar Singh Johal
52ITAn/aFederico Laici
53RUSn/aEgor Terpigorev
54GERn/aChristoph Froh
55ESPn/aJose Alejandro Aranzueque Tormo
56CZEn/aTomas Vika
57RUSn/aVyacheslav Sivenkov
58AUTn/aFlorian Raudaschl
59LTUn/aTauras Rymonis
60FRAn/aMarc Allain Des Beauvais
61ITAn/aAndrea Fornaro
62IRLn/aRoss Hamilton
64ITAn/aFederico Gattuso
65HUNn/aHirschler Richard
66SUIn/aThomas Gautschi
67ITAn/aStefano Carabalona
68SUIn/aSilvan Hofer
69SVKn/aSlavomir Sopuch
70GBRn/aIain Woolward
71RUSn/aFelix Denikaev
72ITAn/aRiccardo Cordovani
73RUSn/aVasiliy Kravchenko
74RUSn/aMikhail Petriga
75ESPn/aAntonio Parra
76USAn/aHenry Sprague III
77CZEn/aDaniel Vinkl
78RUSn/aLeonid Kleimann
79RUSn/aYury Polovinkin
80RUSn/aDenis Kharitonov
81CZEn/aPetr Vinkl
82ESPn/amauricio lque diaz
© 2018 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM