An Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
Olympic Games
5 - 21 August 2016

London 2012

London 2012

Opening Date

27 Jul 2012

Closing Date

12 Aug 2012

Country of the host city

Great Britain

Candidate cities

Madrid (ESP), Moscow (RUS), New York City (USA) and Paris (FRA)


An exceptional fortnight at the London 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition showcased the sport to the world and to thousands of fans that lined up on the Nothe Spectator area. It started with a surprise as Jonas Hogh Christensen (DEN) took two bullets ahead of the home nation favourite Ben Ainslie (GBR) in the Finn and ended in high suspense as Tamara Echegoyen (ESP) took victory in a big wind Women's Match Racing finale.

Over 60,000 spectators enjoyed an Olympic day out in Weymouth and Portland on the Nothe where every class played to the crowd. Even more made the most of vantage points around the course to catch a glimpse of history being made.

Ben Ainslie (GBR) became the most decorated Olympic sailor of all time, Pavlos Kontides won Cyprus' first ever Olympic medal with silver in the Laser, Echegoyen shocked the favourites in the Women's Match Racing and China's Lijia Xu came out on top in an epic four way Laser Radial podium battle.

Three Australian gold medals and a silver saw the Aussies top the sailing Medal Table ahead of Spain who had two gold medals. Hosts Great Britain were shifted from top spot having finished at the helm three times in a row, nonetheless they medalled in five out of ten events for their silver lining.

ISAF Olympic News
Olympics - Regatta page - History - 2012
Regatta Details
Start Date29 July 2012
End Date11 August 2012
VenueWeymouth and Portland
CountryGreat Britain
Entry NameLondon 2012
Entry AddressOne Churchill Place
Tel+44 20 3 2012 000
Registration Lists n/a
Latest News
Fleet racing Men 470 view
Fleet racing Women 470 view
Fleet racing Open 49er view
Match racing Women Elliott 6m view
Fleet racing Open Finn view
Fleet racing Men Laser view
Fleet racing Women Laser Radial view
Windsurfing Men RS:X W view
Windsurfing Women RS:X W view
Fleet racing Men Star view
London 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition29 Jul 2012 - 11 Aug 2012
RS:X (Men) Windsurfing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1NEDn/a14.0014.00Dorian Van Rijsselberge
2GBRn/a38.0048.00Nick Dempsey
3POLn/a56.0069.00Przemyslaw Miarczynski
4GERn/a61.0070.00Toni Wilhelm
5FRAn/a68.0091.00Julien Bontemps
6GREn/a71.0087.00Byron Kokkalanis
7NZLn/a88.00105.00Jon-Paul Tobin
8CANn/a90.00119.00Zachary Plavsic
9BRAn/a108.00130.00Ricardo Santos
10SUIn/a120.00141.00Richard Stauffacher
11ARGn/a116.00136.00Mariano Reutemann
12LTUn/a120.00147.00Juozas Bernotas
13HKGn/a125.00153.00Ho Tsun Leung
14PORn/a131.00156.00João Rodrigues
15KORn/a139.00170.00Tae Hoon Lee
16ESPn/a150.00150.00Ivan Pastor Lafuente
17CYPn/a150.00180.00Andreas Cariolou
18CHNn/a153.00180.00Aichen Wang
19ISRn/a155.00155.00Shahar Zubari
20RUSn/a167.00167.00Dmitrii Polishchuk
21CROn/a170.00206.00Luka Mratovic
22USAn/a179.00179.00Robert Willis
23UKRn/a181.00217.00Max Oberemko
24NORn/a185.00217.00Sebastian Wang-Hansen
25HUNn/a187.00187.00Aron Gadorfalvi
26BULn/a203.00203.00Yoan Kolev
27BLRn/a208.00208.00Mikalai Zhukavets
28JPNn/a209.00243.00Makoto Tomizawa
29DENn/a220.00249.00Sebastian Fleischer
30ESTn/a230.00230.00Johannes Ahun
31VENn/a251.00288.00Daniel Flores
32MEXn/a254.00289.00David Mier y Teran
33THAn/a254.00254.00Ek Boonsawad
34ITAn/a268.00304.00Federico Esposito
35TPEn/a289.00326.00Hao Chang
36CZEn/a257.00257.00Karel Lavicky
37COLn/a263.00263.00Santiago Grillo
38EGYn/a334.00334.00Ahmed Habash
Medal Tally


Olivia Price (AUS) in the big winds
2012 Olympics - Women's Match Racing Finals
The final start
2012 Olympics - Women's 470 Medal Race & Ceremony
The final downwind for the fleet
2012 Olympics - Men's 470 Medal Race & Ceremony
Allan Norregaard and Peter Lang (DEN) take bronze
2012 Olympics - 49er Medal Race & Ceremony
Joint leaders Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie (NZL) are guaranteedto win a medal
2012 Olympics - 470 Women Medal Race Line Up
Fleet set off
2012 Olympics - Women's RS:X Medal Race & Ceremony
The three medallists begin the Medal Race
2012 Olympics - Men's RS:X Medal Race & Ceremony
Mat Belcher and Malcolm Page (AUS)
2012 Olympics - 470 Men Medal Race Line Up
Tom Slingsby covered Pavlos Kontides in the Medal Race to take gold
2012 Olympics - Laser Medal Race & Ceremony
The fleet get underway
2012 Olympics - Laser Radial Medal Race & Ceremony
Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen (AUS)
2012 Olympics - 49er Final Line Up
Olivia Price, Nina Curtis and Lucinda Whitty (AUS)
2012 Olympics - Women's Match Racing Quarter Final Line Up
Take whatever vantage point possible
2012 Olympics - Finn Medal Race & Ceremony
A partisan crowd watch the Stars are racing begins
2012 Olympics - Star Medal Race & Ceremony
Dorian van Rijsselberge (NED)
2012 Olympics - RS:X Men Medal Race Line Up
Marina Alabau (ESP)
2012 Olympics - RS:X Women Medal Race Line Up
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM