An Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
Olympic Games
5 - 21 August 2016

Beijing 2008

Beijing 2008

Opening Date

08 Aug 2008

Closing Date

24 Aug 2008

Country of the host city


Candidate cities

Istanbul (TUR), Osaka (JPN), Paris (FRA) and Toronto (CAN)


In many ways Beijing 2008 was a landmark Games for sailing. It was the first time the Medal Race format, featuring the top ten competitors competing in a final double-points race, was used at the Olympic Games. China won its first ever gold medal in sailing, whilst Alessandra Sensini of Italy became the first female sailor to win four Olympic medals. British sailor Ben Ainslie won his third consecutive Olympic gold medal, a feat International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Jacques Rogge called 'equally fantastic' to the recording-breaking performances of American swimmer Michael Phelps and Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt.

The 2008 Olympic Sailing Competition was held at the Qingdao Olympic Sailing Centre in the Chinese coastal city of Qingdao, located on the Yellow Sea, some 800 kilometres from Beijing.

The expected light winds conditions prevailed throughout the early part of the competition, which combined with the high heat and humidity made for some extremely challenging racing. Over the second week of racing, conditions were much more varied, including severe storms for several of the Medal Races. In total 18 nations won medals, including the first ever sailing medal for Lithuania. With four gold, one silver and one bronze medal, Great Britain topped the sailing Medal Tally for the third consecutive Games.

Other gold medals went to Australia, who repeated their feat of 2000 by winning both two-person dinghy events, Spain, the USA, China, Denmark and New Zealand.

ISAF Olympic News
Olympics - Regatta page - History - 2008
Regatta Details
Start Date9 August 2008
End Date21 August 2008
CountryChina, PR
Entry Name
Entry Address
Registration Lists n/a
Latest News
Fleet racing Men 470 view
Fleet racing Women 470 view
Fleet racing Open 49er view
Fleet racing Open Finn view
Fleet racing Men Laser view
Fleet racing Women Laser Radial view
Windsurfing Men RS:X W view
Windsurfing Women RS:X W view
Fleet racing Men Star view
Fleet racing Open Tornado view
Fleet racing Women Yngling view
2008 Beijing Olympic Games Sailing Competition09 Aug 2008 - 21 Aug 2008
RS:X (Men) Windsurfing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1NZLn/a49.0081.00Tom Ashley
2FRAn/a49.0062.00Julien Bontemps
3ISRn/a56.0075.00Shahar Zubari
4GBRn/a53.0070.00Nick Dempsey
5BRAn/a71.00104.00Ricardo Santos
6HKGn/a83.00116.00King Yin Chan
7CHNn/a90.00112.00Aichen Wang
8GREn/a90.0090.00Nikolas Kaklamanakis
9ESPn/a101.00119.00Ivan Pastor Lafuente
10JPNn/a107.00107.00Makoto Tomizawa
11PORn/a101.00120.00João Rodrigues
12UKRn/a103.00103.00Max Oberemko
13CYPn/a111.00130.00Andreas Cariolou
14SUIn/a111.00133.00Richard Stauffacher
15NEDn/a112.00139.00Casper Bouman
16POLn/a116.00143.00Przemyslaw Miarczynski
17MEXn/a129.00158.00David Mier y Teran
18KORn/a133.00158.00Tae Hoon Lee
19HUNn/a136.00162.00Aron Gadorfalvi
20ITAn/a138.00162.00Fabian Heidegger
21ARGn/a168.00193.00Mariano Reutemann
22TURn/a172.00172.00Ertugrul Icingir
23CANn/a181.00211.00Zachary Plavsic
24DENn/a201.00236.00Jonas Kaeldso
25THAn/a203.00236.00Ek Boonsawad
26USAn/a217.00249.00Ben Barger
27INAn/a225.00225.00I Gusti Made Oka Sulaksana
28BLRn/a229.00261.00Mikalai Zhukavets
29VENn/a232.00267.00Carlos Flores
30SVKn/a243.00274.00Patrik Pollak
31TPEn/a260.00260.00Hao Chang
32CROn/a265.00299.00Luka Mratovic
33ESTn/a273.00307.00Johannes Ahun
34RUSn/a279.00314.00Alexey Tokarev
35COLn/a293.00293.00Santiago Grillo
Medal Tally


No ALT tag specified
1932 Olympic Sailing Competition - Gallery
No ALT tag specified
1952 Olympic Sailing Competition - Gallery
Action from the start
2008 Olympics - Star Medal Race
(L-R) Darren Bundock and Glenn Ashby of Australia and Fernando Echavarri and Anton Paz of Spain
2008 Olympics - Tornado Medal Race
The Men's RS:X Medal Race gets underway
2008 Olympics - Men's RS:X Medal Race
Jian Yin of China
2008 Olympics - Women's RS:X Medal Race
Anna Tunnicliffe of the USA
2008 Olympics - Laser Radial - Medal Race
Paul Goodison of Great Britain
2008 Olympics - Laser Medal Race
Elise Rechichi (L) and Tessa Parkinson (R) of Australia
2008 Olympics - Women's 470 Medal Race
The Men's 470 Medal Race gets underway
2008 Olympics - Men's 470 Medal Race
Nico Delle - Karth and Nikolaus Resch of Austria are hit by a wave
2008 Olympics - 49er Medal Race
The start of the Finn Medal Race
2008 Olympics - Finn Medal Race
The start of the Yngling Medal Race
2008 Olympics - Yngling Medal Race
Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau of France at the start
2008 Olympics - 15 August - Star races
Johnny Lovell and Charlie Ogletree of the USA
2008 Olympics - 15 August - Tornado races
Ben Ainslie of Great Britain
2008 Olympics - 9-15 August - Finn races
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM